This page uses Javascript. Your browser either doesn't support Javascript or you have it turned off. To see this page as it is meant to appear please use a Javascript enabled browser.
About us

About us

The Institute

The National Centre for Good Governance (NCGG) was set up in 2014 by the Government of India as an apex–level autonomous institution under the Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions. The Centre traces its origin to the National Institute of Administrative Research (NIAR), which was set up in 1995 by the Lal Bahadur Shastri National Academy of Administration (LBSNAA), the Government of India's topmost training institute for civil services. NIAR was subsequently rechristened and subsumed into NCGG.

NCGG deals with a gamut of governance issues from local, state to national levels, across all sectors. The Centre is mandated to work in the areas of governance, policy reforms, capacity building and training of civil servants and technocrats of India and other developing countries. It also works as a think tank.

Since its inception, the Centre has been extensively working in areas such as primary and elementary education, decentralized planning at district and block levels, capacity building of Panchayat Raj Institutions (PRIs), participatory models of learning and action, rural development, cooperatives, and public sector management, etc. In addition, it focuses on issues related to good governance, social accountability, water, sanitation and hygiene (WASH), among other sectors.

The Centre encapsulates the essence of good governance and weighs on the importance of the rule of law, bringing in transparency, working to promote public participation in governance, service delivery and reforms, as well as in developing accountable institutions, access to information, etc.



    • To be a think tank for governance and policy reforms, cutting across administrative, social, economic, and financial spheres;
    • To function as a national repository of information on best practices, initiatives and methodologies that promote good governance, e-governance, innovation and change management within the government and its parastatal organizations;
    • To initiate and participate in action research and capacity-building on various aspects of regulatory and development administration, public policy, governance, and public management at the national, state, and local levels;
    • To engage in provision of consultancy services in and outside the country.
    • To advise on key issues in governance and develop synergy across various ministries/ departments of the Government of India and various state governments;
    • To promote sharing and replication of innovative ideas and best practices in governance; and
    • To interact with national and international organizations, in and outside the government, engaged in research and capacity building in these spheres;
    • To raise resources in support of the activities of 'the society' and maintain and manage a fund to which shall be credited;
    • Any other work to be entrusted by the Government. 

Governing Body

The affairs of the NCGG are managed under the overall superintendence and direction of the Governing Body, which is headed by the Cabinet Secretary. It has Secretaries of 9 ministries/ departments and 5 eminent persons viz. academicians, eminent administrators, specialists, eminent innovators, heads of reputed institutions as members. The Director General, who is the Chief Executive of NCGG acts as the Member–Secretary of the Governing Body.

1. Cabinet Secretary Chairperson
2. Secretary, D/o Administrative Reforms & PG Vice- Chairperson
3. Secretary, D/o Personnel and Training Member
4. Secretary, D/o Rural Development Member
5. Secretary, M/o Housing and Urban Affairs Member
6. Secretary, D/o Health and Family Welfare Member
7. Secretary, D/o Higher Education Member
8. Secretary, D/o Economic Affairs Member
9. Secretary, M/o Electronic and Information Technology Member
10. Secretary, D/o Agriculture, Cooperation & FW Member
11. Academicians / Eminent Administrators / Specialist / Eminent Innovators / Heads of reputed institutes Member (5)
12. Director General, NCGG Member Secretary

Click here to download - Memorandum of Association of NCGG

Management Committee

The NCGG also has a Management Committee, which is responsible for the administration and management of the society with regards to detailed plans, monitoring and implementation of programmes, contributions, and funds of the society, etc. The management committee consists of 12 ex-officio members, headed by the Secretary, DARPG as Chairperson, with Secretaries of 9 ministries/ departments or their nominee, Secretary coordination from Cabinet Secretariat and Director General, NCGG as Member Secretary.

1. Secretary, D/o Administrative Reforms &PG Chairperson(Ex-officio)
2. Secretary Coordination, Cabinet Secretariat Member (Ex-Officio)
3. SS/AS & FA (Home) Member (Ex-Officio)
Secretaries or their nominee not below the level of JS
4. D/o Personnel & Training Member (Ex-Officio)
5. D/o Rural Development Member (Ex-Officio)
6. M/o Housing and Urban Affairs Member (Ex-Officio)
7. D/o Health & Family Welfare Member (Ex-Officio)
8. D/o Higher Education Member (Ex-Officio)
9. D/o Economic Affairs Member (Ex-Officio)
10. M/o Electronic and Information Technology Member (Ex-Officio)
11. D/o Agriculture, Cooperation & FW Member (Ex-Officio)
12. Director General, NCGG Member Secretary

Click here to download - Bye-Laws of NCGG

Back to top